Nebraska's Schwellenbach named 2021 recipient of the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award

The College Baseball Foundation named Nebraska’s Spencer Schwellenbach as the 2021 recipient of the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award. 

He is the first Husker to be honored with the trophy.  The 2021 Big Ten Player of the Year and a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, Schwellenbach took the mound for the first time in 2021.  A contributor in all three facets of the game, Schwellenbach was Nebraska's number three hitter all season, started every game at shortstop and served as the team's closer.  Offensively, he ranked in the top ten in the Big Ten in runs, RBIs and walks, while in the field he committed just four errors in 186 chances.  The Michigan native took the mound for the first time during his Husker career this season and was electric, leading the Big Ten with ten saves.  Schwellenbach had a 0.57 ERA in 31.2 innings over 18 appearances.  He struck out 34 and allowed just two runs.  Along with being named the 2021 Olerud Player of the Year, Schwellenbach was also named a third-team All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and a first-team selection as a relief pitcher on the Central-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region team today.

In other news

The Milwaukee Bucks own a two-games-to-one lead in the NBA's Eastern Conference Finals following a comeback win in Atlanta.  The Bucks have regained home-court advantage by taking Game Three, 113-102 over the Hawks.  Khris Middleton scored 20 of his playoff career high-tying 38 points in the…

Paul George delivered 27 points, 15 rebounds and eight assists as the Los Angeles Clippers beat the Phoenix Suns, 106-92 to pull within two games to one in the NBA's Western Conference Finals.  Reggie Jackson added 23 points for the Clippers, who took control with a 21-3 run that gave them a…

For the first time since 2018, Nebraska men's basketball program will host the annual intrastate matchup with Creighton, as the pairings for the 2021 Gavitt Tipoff Games were announced today by the Big Ten and the Big East Conferences.