54th Nebraska Match Play Championship gets underway today in Gothenburg

The 54th Nebraska Match Play Championship is set for today through Saturday at Wild Horse Golf Club in Gothenburg with a field overflowing with great talent. 

The championship begins with 36 holes of Stroke Play Qualifying today and Wednesday, after which the field will be cut to 32 players and seeded into a match play bracket.  Norfolk’s Luke Kluver won last year’s event.  Kluver will be playing in this week’s Sunnehanna Amateur in Pennsylvania.  Current Husker golfer and Aurora native Caleb Badura is the most recent winner in the Match Play Championship field, claiming the title in 2019.  Other past champions competing include the reigning, and four-time Nebraska Amateur Champion Andy Sajevic of Fremont, who won his match play title in 2013.  Travis Minzel of Lincoln (2004) and Ryan Nietfeldt of Elkhorn (2003) are also in the field.  Among the competitors include Norfolk’s Jake Kluver & Lance Lawson, Wausa’s Ted Bengston, Wisner’s Rockney Peck, Plainview’s Jake Lingenfelter & Tucker Knaak, Battle Creek’s Ty Heimes, Atkinson’s Mason Hale, Fordyce’ Matthew Schaefer, and Columbus’ Sam Morse, Marshall Obal, Brock Kuhlman, & Bryce Vuncannon.

In other news

The Milwaukee Bucks own a two-games-to-one lead in the NBA's Eastern Conference Finals following a comeback win in Atlanta.  The Bucks have regained home-court advantage by taking Game Three, 113-102 over the Hawks.  Khris Middleton scored 20 of his playoff career high-tying 38 points in the…

Paul George delivered 27 points, 15 rebounds and eight assists as the Los Angeles Clippers beat the Phoenix Suns, 106-92 to pull within two games to one in the NBA's Western Conference Finals.  Reggie Jackson added 23 points for the Clippers, who took control with a 21-3 run that gave them a…

For the first time since 2018, Nebraska men's basketball program will host the annual intrastate matchup with Creighton, as the pairings for the 2021 Gavitt Tipoff Games were announced today by the Big Ten and the Big East Conferences.