The Norfolk Planning Commission met Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. at the Norfolk City Council Chambers.

Commission members present: Frank Arens, Matt Gilmore, Zack Gangwer, Kyle Deets, Martin Griffith, Dirk Waite and Dan Spray.

Commission members absent: Jacob Thone and Mary Hammond.

Meeting lasted: 40 minutes.

Others in attendance: City staff, three; media representatives, two; and three from the public.

Action items:

— The planning commission held a public hearing and approved a zoning change from Agricultural to Rural Residential at 4205 West Eisenhower Ave.

— The commission approved final plats for Hauser’s Addition and Keith-Asmussen’s Addition.

— The commission unanimously voted to deny a sidewalk waiver request by ROPAC, Inc. at 4205 West Eisenhower Ave.

— The commission approved a sidewalk waiver request for Dallas McKellips at 808 Forest Drive.

In other news

Voters in three Northeast Nebraska communities passed a $34.3 million school bond Tuesday to form the Summerland school district and construct a new pre-kindergarten through 12th grade facility.

Winter conditions arrived early as many Northeast Nebraskans awoke to find a fresh blanket of snow covering the ground on Monday.

OMAHA — U.S. Attorney Joe Kelly announced that Bryant Freemont, Jr., 19, was sentenced Friday in federal court in Omaha, for robbery in Indian Country.