Joe's Morning Sports-Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Three Nebraska volleyball student-athletes were named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-North Region Team yesterday.  Mikaela Foecke, Kenzie Maloney and Lauren Stivrins were named to the All-Region Team, while Nicklin Hames received honorable mention.  The three Huskers are now eligible for AVCA All-America awards, which will be announced next week.  Last week, Foecke, Maloney and Stivrins were also named to the All-Big Ten Team.  Nebraska returns to action on Friday when they face Kentucky in a regional matchup in Minneapolis at 1:00.

Head coach Kirsten Bernthal Booth and three women from the Creighton volleyball team were also honored by the AVCA yesterday.  Booth was named East Region Coach of the Year for the third time in four seasons, while Madelyn Cole, Taryn Kloth, and Jaali Winters were selected as First Team All-East Region choices.  The Bluejays finished its 2018 season last Saturday with a 29-5 record after winning BIG EAST regular-season and tournament titles for the fifth straight season.

Oklahoma State defensive tackle Darrion Daniels plans to enroll at Nebraska as a graduate transfer for his senior season in 2019, according to the Lincoln Journal Star.  The 6’3, 300-pounder is the older brother of Husker sophomore nose tackle Damion Daniels.  Darrion Daniels, who was a four-star recruit out of high school in Dallas, Texas played four seasons for Oklahoma State, though his senior year was cut short by a finger injury suffered in practice the week before the fifth game this season.  He is allowed by NCAA rules to maintain his season of eligibility because he played in only four games.  In four games this season, Daniels made seven tackles and a sack.

Nebraska great and 1997 Outland Trophy winner Aaron Taylor was one of 13 individuals to comprise the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class.  The 13 inductees were honored last night at the 61st National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown.  Taylor was among the group of players selected from the national ballot that included 75 All-Americans.  He became the 18th Nebraska player to earn induction into the College Hall of Fame and gives NU 24 overall members of the Hall including six coaches.  Taylor is the first Husker player selected since Trev Alberts was inducted in 2015, and will be the sixth Husker inducted into the Hall in the past twelve seasons joining Alberts (2015), Tommie Frazier (2013), Will Shields (2011), Grant Wistrom (2009) and Mike Rozier (2006).

Local Schedule:  Nebraska at Minnesota (MBB-8:00); Kansas at Nebraska (WBB-7:00); Nebraska-Omaha at Creighton (WBB-7:00).

Local Scores:  Millard North 64 Nfk High 48 (BBB); LHNE 49 Twin River 46 (BBB); Twin River 59 LHNE 24 (GBB); NC 43 Pierce 29 (GBB); NECC 94 Mt. Marty JV 71 (MBB); Nfk High 113 Fremont 55 (B. Swim Dual); Nfk High 93 Fremont 76 (G. Swim Dual).

CBS Sports Radio at Newstalk WJAG 105.9 FM & 780 AM Mon-Fri at 6:00 PM; Sat at 4:00; & Sun at 1:00.  Also, the home of the Kansas City Chiefs!




      Final    Indiana            96    Chicago              90

      Final    Orlando          105    Miami                  90

      Final    Dallas            111    Portland          102

      Final    Sacramento    122    Phoenix            105

      Final    Utah                139    San  Antonio    105






      Final    Winnipeg          3    N-Y  Islanders      1

      Final    Florida            5    Boston                    0

      Final    Calgary            9    Columbus                6

      Final    Pittsburgh      6    Colorado                3

      Final    Montreal          5    Ottawa                    2

      Final  SO    Tampa  Bay        6    Detroit                  5

      Final  OT    Toronto            4    Buffalo                  3

      Final    Vegas                5    Washington            3

      Final    Minnesota        3    Vancouver              2

      Final    Arizona            2    L.A.  Kings            1





      Final    (2)  Kansas                          72    Wofford                  47

      Final    (5)  Michigan                      62    Northwestern        60

      Final    (8)  Auburn                          67    UNC-Asheville      41

      Final    (22)  Mississippi  St.      90    McNeese  St.          77

      Final    (25)  Furman                        98    Elon                        77