The Norfolk Catholic Hall of Fame Committee has announced its 2017 inductees.

The individuals will be honored at the third annual Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday, April 22, at the Norfolk Catholic Activities Center.

The event is open to anyone with tickets available now until the time of the event.

Here’s a look at who will be honored at the banquet:


Mike Flood ('93) works as a broadcaster and attorney in Nebraska. He started Flood Communications in 1999 and now owns eight radio stations in Norfolk, Nebraska City, Beatrice, Fairbury and the state's largest Spanish-speaking radio station in Omaha.

In 2015, Flood launched Norfolk's first TV station and has since added new TV stations in Columbus and Beatrice. These radio and TV stations work together as a statewide media network called "News Channel Nebraska."

In 2005, Flood was elected to the Nebraska Legislature and was subsequently elected Speaker of the Legislature in 2007 and continued in that role until the completion of his second term in 2012.


Joe Mueting ('72) was a three-sport athlete who excelled especially on the basketball court. He went on to play basketball for the University of South Dakota where he remains in the Top 20 in both points and rebounds and was inducted into the USD Hall of Fame. Mueting was all-conference three years at USD, won the Rube Hoy Award as the Outstanding USD Senior Student Athlete (1970) and played a brief stint in Europe following college.

June Jochum ('80) was one of Norfolk Catholic's first female four-year, three-sport letter winners, paving the way for future generations of multi-sport athletes. Jochum excelled in every sport she participated in: volleyball, basketball, track, swimming, golf and softball. She was the leading scorer for Nebraska in Class C basketball one year and went on to play basketball and golf at Midland University in Fremont.


Mary (Truby) Smith was a high school Spanish teacher for 31 years at Norfolk Catholic. She helped coach the speech and drama teams and was a huge part of their success over the years. She also contributed greatly to the school musicals for many years.

Ruth Casey was one of the first lay teachers at Sacred Heart, where she taught grades two through eight. She is remembered by many people in the Norfolk community as a dedicated teacher, a loyal friend, a loving mother and grandmother, a tireless caregiver and a faithful Christian.

Frances Guinan taught alongside Casey as among the first lay teachers at Sacred Heart Elementary. Guinan was dedicated to Catholic education with every sense of her being. Hours and pay didn't matter as much to her as did seeing her students live up to their ability. Her commitment and sacrifices laid the ground work for many lay educators to follow.


Jim and Connie Lange have served Norfolk Catholic and Sacred Heart Parish in many ways over the years, serving on the school board, athletic booster club, pastoral council and many other committees. Jim has been a permanent fixture on the campuses for decades, lending his expertise to every building and maintenance project. The Langes have always been the first to roll up their sleeves to do the dirty work involved in any project.

Richard "Dick" Morrison donated stock to the Norfolk Catholic Schools Foundation in the early 1980s. The well-known accountant’s gift was one of the single largest gifts received by the foundation to date. His philanthropic spirit provided other gifts to the Norfolk community, most notably a large gift to the Norfolk YMCA to help establish its operations.


The 1975 one-act and 1975 speech teams marked the first state championship for Norfolk Catholic in those areas. This group laid the foundation that resulted in 11 one-act championships and three runner-up finishes and 11 speech state championships and one runner-up finish — for a grand total of 26 championship/runner-up trophies.

Team members were Stephen Ames, Mike Brogan, Rhonda Collins, Mike Dean, Doug Hermsen, Ann Hobson, Jan Machmuller, Mark Meisel, Tim Mueting, Julie Myers, Becky Reich, Terry Price, Debbie Schiffmann, Birgit Sendrowski, Margaret Stafford, Joe Stinson, Tim Thramer, Paulynn Zautke, Ginny Miller and Marc Gillespie. The team was coached by 2015 Hall of Fame recipient, Diane (Rood) Linke.

The 1963 football team made its mark in the state with an undefeated season — one of many for the Knights of Sacred Heart/Norfolk Catholic School. The 1963 team blanked nearly every opponent. Six of it nine games, the Knights defense held their opponents scoreless while the remaining three games each team only managed six points against the gruesome Knights defense. The offensive unit averaged 40 points per game.

Coached by John Lawler and Don Kelley, team members included Phllip Arkfeld, Dan Arkfeld, Robert Arkfeld, William Arkfeld, Leon Becker, Ron Bonneau, Steve Bradford, Jim Carter, Jim Casey, Jim Christensen, Don Davis, William Dittrick, Duane Dodds, Richard Guinan, Ron Hodge, Bob Hupp, Tom Kinsella, Jim Kuzelka, Tom LaBute, Mike Medelman, Joe Morris, Donald Mueting, Mike Norton, Larry Shavlik, Guy Stinson, Steve Stover, Mark Tomes, Bob McCord, Mike Tesar, Steve Trybus and Craig Kinsella.

The 1953 & 1954 football teams competed before state championships and before class divisions. Nebraska had more than 150 football teams playing six-man football. Champions were named based on the opinion of the sports writers at the time. Although the 1953 and 1954 teams did not ever secure the "championship" nod, as they officially were placed third in '53 and '54, both seasons had undefeated records by an average winning margin of 33 points per game.

Coached by Father Martin and Fred Letheby, team members included David Hamling, George Abboud, Micheal Howard, Thomas Delay, John Davis, Micheal Murphy, Larry Clark, John Lawler, Robert Guinan, Gerald Peschel, Donald McVaney, Paul Determan, Larry Determan, Don Ruppert, Dale Voigt, Gary Anderson, Ralph Vincent, Richard Mueting, William Mausbach, Robert McMahon, Ronald Henn, James Turner, Eldon McKamy, Michael Jonas, Ronald McKamy and Edward Mock.