Northeast BOG

STEVE ANDERSON (second from left), the new chairman of the Northeast Community College board of governors, is pictured with Dirk Petersen of Norfolk (second from right), the immediate past chairman while attending a board meeting Thursday in Norfolk. Also pictured are Arlan Kuehn of South Sioux City (next to Anderson), who was elected Thursday board vice chairman, and Dr. Michael Chipps, college president.

NORFOLK — Steve Anderson of Concord was elected Thursday as the new chairman of the Northeast Community College board of governors.

Anderson represents District III on the board, which is made up of Dixon and Dakota counties and a portion of Cedar County.

As the new board chairman, he succeeds Dirk Petersen of Norfolk.

Elected Thursday to other officer positions for 2019 were member Arlan Kuehn of South Sioux City as vice chairman, and Julie Robinson of Norfolk as board secretary.

Anderson was initially appointed to his position on the Northeast board in April 1997 and was formally elected to the board in 1998. He has been re-elected to the seat in 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014 and last November.

In 2017, Anderson was presented with the Nebraska Community College Association Governor’s Award. The award is presented annually to one board member from five of the state’s community college areas.

This past October, Anderson was recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees with its 2018 Western Region Trustee Leadership Award. The association’s western region covers 10 states and five Canadian provinces and territories. Geographically, it is the largest of the association’s five regions across North America.

Also at Thursday’s meeting, board members elected or re-elected in November — Del Ames, Neligh (District I); Carol Sibbel, O’Neill (District II); Anderson, and Dr. Terry Nelson, West Point (District IV), were sworn in by Petersen.

In addition, Anderson and District IV member Gene Willers of Pilger were selected as representatives to the Nebraska Community College Association board of directors.

Diane Reikofski was reappointed board recording secretary.